Mario x Call of Duty x God

Recently I’ve been reintroduced to Mario seeing as how my uncle bought the All-Stars game that just came out for the Wii.

Super Mario Bros was and still is a great game that anyone can appreciate. How does an Italian plumber (with a thick mustache and an even thicker accent) whom trips off shrooms continue to be relevant after 25 years though? Sure there’s been a couple more modern takes on the game that have more or less flopped but I’d say Mario and friends achieve timelessness by simply being simple.

My pops once told me something along the lines that… “a small person complicates the simple things in life while a truly grand person simplifies the apparently complex problems that life may offer”. The same great man also made me aware of another reason that simplicity usually trumps the hype. Whenever I’d mess up he’d remind me that only Jesus* was known to be perfect. Then he’d proceed to ask me what I considered the defining characteristic of the supposed son of God. After racking my brain to recollect all the parables and stories I’d heard of JC, I came to the conclusion that during his alleged time on earth he was known to be a simple man whom was not mortified by things of this world. Basically my father’s point was that though as human beings we are incapable of being perfect, we can emulate Christ’s perfection by merely being simple.

Amusingly this post started off with Mario but somehow ended with Jesus Christ. Now, instead of overly complicating and whining about the fact that on Monday we must return to school; I propose that we instead keep things simple and enjoy this last day or so of spring break.

*Though considered a fictional character by many, the man still remains someone whom we can learn a lot about how to carry ourselves. Additionally I really couldn’t care less about your religious views and whether or not you agree with mine. In the end everyone needs something or someone to believe in. It suffices to say that I respect all religions and Gods but don’t really care much for churches.

Leave a comment